ABestWeb Affiliate Marketing Forum

Whether you are just starting out in affiliate marketing or you are a veteran, one of the best things you can do is get together with other affiliate marketers.

Learn from them, bounce ideas off of them, ask them for help, and help others.

And one of the best places to do that online is at the ABestWeb Affiliate Marketing Forum. It has been around for many years now (since at least 2005) and has a very good reputation.

ABestWeb is the world's largest Affiliate Marketing forum with 68,000+ members and 123,000+ discussions. Affiliate marketers -— from newbie to experts -— come to ABW to learn and earn more by sharing information about networks, merchants and best practices.

ABestWeb is organized into various categories of sub-forums, including:
  • Affiliate Marketing News & Events:
    New Program Announcements & Paid Ads, Affiliate Tax Laws, Affiliate Marketing Events and Gatherings, AffiliateVoice.

  • Affiliate Lounge:
    Midnight Cafe', Introduce Yourself, Webmasters Barter / Trade / Buy or Sell, ...

  • ABestWeb Affiliate Academy:
    AffiliateABCs.com, Affiliate Legal Lounge, Affiliate Marketing Business Issues, Affiliate Marketing Power Tools, Analytics and Actionable Intelligence, Blogging, Couponer's Corner, Domains & Hosting, Driving Traffic, Effective Advertising, Helpful Articles, Newbie FAQs, Newsletters, ParasiteWare, Programming / Datafeeds / Tools, Search Engine Insight, Spam, Test Purchase Reports, Worldwide Affiliate Marketing

  • Networks and Merchants:
    Commission Junction, Google Affiliate Network, LinkShare, ShareASale, AffiliateFuture, AvantLink, buy.at, DirectAgents, In-House Programs.

  • Outsourced Program Managers:
    Andy Rodriguez Consulting, TeamLoxly, ...

  • Affiliate Manager Forums
We have our own forum at ABestWeb. Check it out:
Cusimano.com Scripts

Keyword Tools

Whether you're targeting Google AdWords, Google AdSense, SEO, or search engine marketing, the selection and optimization of keywords needs to be a part of your website marketing strategy.

Here are a few useful keyword tools to help with researching keywords: If you are serious about doing keyword research then look at using a professional keyword tool:

Twitter Apps & Sites

Here are some useful Twitter related apps and websites:


Premium Wordpress Theme for Niche Marketing

If you want want to set up a niche website, one of the easiest ways to do that is to use WordPress. But the themes that come with WordPress are standard. You need a theme that is geared specifically for niche website and internet marketing.

Joel Comm, the author of Adsense Secrets, has developed ...

Socrates WordPress Theme ...

an easily customizable WordPress theme developed for niche websites. It can be setup in minutes ...

Watch the video

It's very easy to use and includes an amazing amount of functionality.

Some of the features include:
  • Custom Header Design System
  • 1000’s of Design Combinations
  • 160+ Niche Headers
  • 50+ Backgrounds or Upload Your Own
  • Create Custom Headers On The Fly!
  • Multiple Layout Design
  • Built in Clickbank Monetization
  • Built in Social Media Slider
  • Wordpress Tutorials and Training
  • Internet Marketing Training videos
  • Integrated Affiliate Links for Theme, earn 50%
With Socrates, not only can you control all the links on the primary navigation bar, but there are also give you three optional navbars. At the top right, bottom left and bottom right.

There’s an optional “Ad Bar” which allows users to insert a 728x90 Ad Unit above your content.

There is also a “custom html” section where more ad units, optin boxes, or any html code can be added.

It comes preloaded with 50+ backgrounds that you can pick from or you can upload your own.

You can very easily customize the header too. Pick from over 160 niche header design graphics, and add your site title and description over the graphic at any size and position.

Multiple layout design are available. You can choose left sidebar, right sidebar, and split sidebar designs with either 150px width or 300px width.

Go check this out. Watch the brief video for an overview of the Socrates Theme ...

Socrates WordPress Theme video


Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Here are some resources from Google to help you with Search Engine Optimization (SEO):


Simple banner ad rotator using SSI

Here's a simple method to rotate multiple banner ads into one ad space on your webpage by using SSI (server-side-include) statements in your .html files on your linux server (note: does not work for .php files nor for Windows servers).

To keep things organized, create a directory in the root directory of your website and call it "/ads" (you can use any directory name or location you prefer; just make appropriate adjustments below).

For each banner ad that you want to show, create a text file for it and save it in the "/ads" directory. For example, you might have three ads: /ads/cookware.txt, /ads/cookbooks.txt, /ads/appliances.txt. Each file would have a bit of HTML code to show a banner ad; for example:

<a href="http://www.amazon.com/"><img src="amazon.gif"></a>

They should not contain <html> or <body> tags. They should just contain the basic HTML tags that are used to show the banner ad.

Create a text file named /ads/ads.txt that contains something like the following:

<!--#config timefmt="%S" -->
<!--#if expr="${DATE_LOCAL} <20" -->
   <!--#include virtual="/ads/cookware.txt"-->
<!--#elif expr="${DATE_LOCAL} <40" -->
   <!--#include virtual="/ads/cookbooks.txt"-->
<!--#else -->
   <!--#include virtual="/ads/appliances.txt"-->
<!--#endif -->

The %S (that's a capital letter S) says that the server should look at the seconds hand of the server's internal clock to determine what ad to show. Since the probability of a user visiting the website during any given second (of 60 seconds) is the same as any other second, on average, the ads will be shown evenly over a reasonable amount of time.

The #if with "<20" tests to see if the seconds is less than 20 and causes the first ad to be show. The #elif (means "else if") with "<40" tests to see if the seconds is less than 40 and causes the second ad to be show. The #else (i.e.: all previous tests failed) causes the last ad to be shown.

Why "<20" and "<40"? Because in this example, three ads are being rotated. Take 60 seconds and divide by 3 ads to get 20 seconds per ad.

If you want to show a different number of ads then adjust the tests. For example, for five ads, you would use something like the following code:

<!--#config timefmt="%S" -->
<!--#if expr="${DATE_LOCAL} <12" -->
   <!--#include virtual="/ads/ad1.txt"-->
<!--#elif expr="${DATE_LOCAL} <24" -->
   <!--#include virtual="/ads/ad2.txt"-->
<!--#elif expr="${DATE_LOCAL} <36" -->
   <!--#include virtual="/ads/ad3.txt"-->
<!--#elif expr="${DATE_LOCAL} <48" -->
   <!--#include virtual="/ads/ad4.txt"-->
<!--#else -->
   <!--#include virtual="/ads/ad5.txt"-->
<!--#endif -->

For different numbers of ads, here are the tests to use:

2 ads: <30
3 ads: <20, <40
4 ads: <15, <30, <45
5 ads: <12, <24, <36, <48
6 ads: <10, <20, <30, <40, <50
7 ads: <9, <17, <26, <34, <43, <51
8 ads: <8, <15, <23, <30, <38, <45, <53
9 ads: <7, <13, <20, <27, <33, <40, <47, <53
10 ads: <6, <12, <18, <24, <30, <36, <42, <48, <54

Integrating the ad rotator into your webpage is simple. Use an SSI include statement in your webpage where you want the ad rotator to display an ad:

<!--#include virtual="/ads/ads.txt" -->

This statement will cause the ad rotator code to be included into your webpage, and it will then display one of your ads based on the clock's seconds.

Note: You might need to include the following statement in your .htaccess file (located in your website's root directory) so that the server will process the SSI statements:

AddHandler server-parsed .html .txt

That's how to create a basic ad rotator using SSI. If you have multiple ad spaces on your webpage and you want a different ad rotator for each ad space, create a separate ad rotator for each one (e.g.: /ads/top.txt, /ads/left.txt, /ads/inline.txt).

If you need something more complex, then have a look at the free ad server software OpenX.


Guide: Google Sitemaps

Beginners guide to what a Google Sitemap is, why you need it, where to get sitemap software to make one, and how to tell Google.com about your sitemap file.

Guide: Google Sitemaps

Google Sitemaps generator software:


See a Need, Fill a Need

Social media advisor Chris Brogan wrote in his article "Pursue the Goal Not the Method" about the important difference between method and goals. About goals, he wrote:

Seek the goal.
The goal is equipping people.
The goal is satisfying need.
The goal is seeking to better others.
The goal is to provide.
The goal is to make everything work better.

When you are working on your affiliate marketing efforts, you have to always keep your goals in mind. You have to be flexible as to the method. The method is not as important as the goal.

And not only do you have to keep your goals in mind, you have to think about the goals and needs and wants of your target market (see "So What Do People Want, Exactly?").

I'm reminded of a line from the animated film "Robots" (2005). The motto of the main character is, "See a need, fill a need." This succinct line summarizes all of Chris Brogan's "The goal is ..." statements. We should burn that bit of marketing wisdom into our minds.

So the next time you write a blog post or an article, or add something to your website, keep your goals and your visitors' goals in mind. In fact, even before you do any of that, ask yourself if that is the best method to reach those goals. Be flexible in your method and reach for the goal.

Remember ...

See a need, fill a need.


Pay-Per-Click ROI Calculator

When you run Pay-Per-Click (PPC) Ad Campaigns such as Google AdWords, you have to keep an eye on your Return On Investment (ROI).

With any ad campaign, there are four important "input" numbers that you need to know so you can calculate "output" numbers such as ROI:
  • Monthly Ad Spend: How much money you want to spend per month for ads. This is your monthly ad budget. You have control over this number.

  • Conversion Rate (%): How many clicks convert into sales, expressed as a percent. Calculated as: number of sales divided by number of clicks, expressed as a percent. For example, 3 sales from 250 clicks is a 1.2% conversion (i.e.: 3 / 250 * 100 = 1.2). You can estimate this number by looking at the past performance of your ad campaigns. Conversion rate will vary depending on a wide variety of factors, including the products you're promoting, your marketing efforts, your competition, SEO, search engine placement, the season, the economy, and more. Use a realistic conversion rate; typically, less than 2.0% for online sales. Note: Past conversion rate is not a guarantee of future conversion rate.

  • Cost Per Click ($): Cost per click (CPC) is how much you are being charged per click by the ad network. Typcially, when you create an ad, you set the maximum CPC you're willing to pay for that ad. You have control over this number.

  • Average Revenue Per Sale ($): How much money you make (on average) per sale. You can estimate this number by looking at your past sales history. You have some control over this number by promoting higher priced items. Note: Past sales are not a guarantee of future sales.
Once you have the above numbers, it is possible to calculate the following monthly estimated numbers (assumes that all of your monthly ad budget gets spent):
  • Estimated Clicks Per Month: Number of clicks in the month. Calculated as: ad budget divided by cost per click.

  • Estimated Total Sales: Number of sales. Calculated as: number of clicks times the conversion rate. For example, 250 clicks with a conversion rate of 1.2% would be 3 sales (i.e.: 250 * 1.2 / 100 = 3). Note: The number of sales is only an estimate and is not guaranteed!

  • Estimated Cost Per Sale: Cost for each sale. This number had better be less than the revenue per sale otherwise you're losing money per sale!

  • Estimated Total Revenue: Total revenue from the sales. Calculated as: total number of sales * revenue per sale.

  • Estimated Total Profit: Estimate of how much money you would make. Calculated as: Total revenue (income) minus monthly ad budget (expense). This number had better be positive otherwise you're losing money!

  • Estimated ROAS: Estimated Return On Ad Spend. If this number is greater than 100%, you're making money; if exactly 100%, you're breaking even; if less than 100%, you're losing money.

  • Estimated ROI: Estimated Return On Investment. If this number is greater than 0%, you're making money; if exactly 0%, you're breaking even; if less than 0%, you're losing money.
Keep in mind that the above numbers are all estimated numbers. Past PPC performance is not a guarantee of future PPC performance.

Rather than calculating all these numbers by hand, you can use this handy PPC ROI Calculator.

By the way, if you're using Google AdWords for your PPC ad campaigns, AdWords can be a great way of getting traffic to your website, but it can also get very expensive if you don't know what you're doing. I suggest that you check out Beating Adwords.


Recuva: Free File Recovery Software

Unlike my other posts, this one is not about affiliate marketing tips.

It's about a useful little utility program that I found that recovers deleted files on your Windows computer, Recycle Bin, digital camera card, or MP3 player.

It's called Recuva and it's free (the author does ask for a donation if you find it useful).


Recuva can recover pictures, music, Office documents, video, and all other file types too.

The thing is, you really should install Recuva on your Windows computer before you need. Because when you delete any file (whether accidentally or intentionally), the space that the file occupied is now freed up for any new files to use. So if you were to install Recuva at that point, the Recuva program itself might be written to that section on the hard drive thus overwriting the very file that you wanted to recover.

I have Recuva installed on all my computers just in case I need. And I recommend it to everyone I can.

So, install it now, before you need it. Check it out... Recuva

Blocking Bad Bots and Scrapers with .htaccess

Why block "bad bots"? Well, first let me say what a "bad bot" is. It is a search engine spider or email harvester spider that downloads pages from your website and does not obey your robots.txt file. The major of bad bots are a useless waste of your server's bandwidth and resources. That's why I ban them from my websites.

Most bad bots can be identified by their User-Agent value. By making your server check for known User-Agent values of bad bots, you can block those bad bots. Some bad bots forge their User-Agent value and pretend to be web browsers such as FireFox or IE; those bad bots cannot be blocked based on User-Agent (you may be able to block them based on IP address).

The testing for bad bots goes in your website's .htaccess file. If you have a dedicated server, you could put the testing in your webserver's http.conf file for greater efficiency.

I have the following statements in my website's root .htaccess file before all other Rewrite statements:

#--- 403 Forbidden file ---
ErrorDocument 403 /403.html

#--- enable Rewrite engine ---
RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /

#--- block bad bots ---
# see: http://www.askapache.com/htaccess/blocking-bad-bots-and-scrapers-with-htaccess.html

RewriteRule ^403\.html$ - [L]

RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(aesop_com_spiderman|alexibot|backweb|bandit|batchftp|bigfoot) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(black.?hole|blackwidow|blowfish|botalot|buddy|builtbottough|bullseye) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(cheesebot|cherrypicker|chinaclaw|collector|copier|copyrightcheck) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(cosmos|crescent|curl|custo|da|diibot|disco|dittospyder|dragonfly) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(drip|easydl|ebingbong|ecatch|eirgrabber|emailcollector|emailsiphon) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(emailwolf|erocrawler|exabot|eyenetie|filehound|flashget|flunky) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(frontpage|getright|getweb|go.?zilla|go-ahead-got-it|gotit|grabnet) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(grafula|harvest|hloader|hmview|httplib|httrack|humanlinks|ilsebot) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(infonavirobot|infotekies|intelliseek|interget|iria|jennybot|jetcar) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(joc|justview|jyxobot|kenjin|keyword|larbin|leechftp|lexibot|lftp|libweb) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(likse|linkscan|linkwalker|lnspiderguy|lwp|magnet|mag-net|markwatch) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(mata.?hari|memo|microsoft.?url|midown.?tool|miixpc|mirror|missigua) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(mister.?pix|moget|mozilla.?newt|nameprotect|navroad|backdoorbot|nearsite) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(net.?vampire|netants|netcraft|netmechanic|netspider|nextgensearchbot) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(attach|nicerspro|nimblecrawler|npbot|octopus|offline.?explorer) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(offline.?navigator|openfind|outfoxbot|pagegrabber|papa|pavuk) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(pcbrowser|php.?version.?tracker|pockey|propowerbot|prowebwalker) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(psbot|pump|queryn|recorder|realdownload|reaper|reget|true_robot) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(repomonkey|rma|internetseer|sitesnagger|siphon|slysearch|smartdownload) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(snake|snapbot|snoopy|sogou|spacebison|spankbot|spanner|sqworm|superbot) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(superhttp|surfbot|asterias|suzuran|szukacz|takeout|teleport) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(telesoft|the.?intraformant|thenomad|tighttwatbot|titan|urldispatcher) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(turingos|turnitinbot|urly.?warning|vacuum|vci|voideye|whacker) [NC,OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^(libwww-perl|widow|wisenutbot|wwwoffle|xaldon|xenu|zeus|zyborg|anonymouse) [NC,OR]

RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^web(zip|emaile|enhancer|fetch|go.?is|auto|bandit|clip|copier|master|reaper|sauger|site.?quester|whack) [NC,OR]

RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} ^.*(craftbot|download|extract|stripper|sucker|ninja|clshttp|webspider|leacher|collector|grabber|webpictures).*$ [NC]

RewriteRule . - [F,L]
(download this file)

The statement "ErrorDocument 403 /403.html" causes all banned users to be redirected to /403.html so you should create a simple 403.html file that just reports the user has been banned. Keep it simple without any images or external CSS references (those files would be blocked).

<head><title>403 Forbidden</title></head>
<h1>403 Forbidden</h1>
<p>Access forbidden.</p>
(download this file)

This .htaccess file is based on a post at AskApache.com. The same concept is also mentioned in a post at JavasSriptKit.com.

It is also possible to ban spiders/spammers/users based on their IP address. For example, you could ban access from IP addresses located in China. I'll cover that topic in a subsequent post.

Redirect www.domain.com to domain.com

In my post "Redirect domain.com to www.domain.com", I described how to redirect requests of domain.com to www.domain.com (note the addition of www.).

It's also possible to do the reverse. In this post I'll describe how to redirect requests from www.domain.com to domain.com (note the removal of www.).

Twitter.com uses this "base domain" technique. Try it... access http://www.twitter.com/c3scripts and you'll see that you're redirected to http://twitter.com/c3scripts

Note: Throughout this post, I mention domain.com (without www.) and www.domain.com (with www.). They are different. Be very clear on that point.

Note: Some web servers are configured to only handle accesses to www.domain.com and will not accept accesses to domain.com. Try accessing your own domain http://domain.com (without www.) and see if your server can handle it or not. If not, ask your hosting company to configure the server to accept domain.com (without www.) accesses, otherwise you cannot use this redirection on your server.

Adding two statements to your root .htaccess file is all you need to do. Add these statements near the top of your .htaccess file before all other Rewrite statements.

#--- remove www domain prefix ---
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.(.*)
RewriteRule ^(.*) http://%1/$1 [R=301,L]

So what do these two lines do?

The RewriteCond (a rewrite condition) tests the HTTP_HOST (what domain is being accessed) to see whether it has www. at the start. If that condition is met, then the next statement is evaluated. If that condition is not met, then the RewriteRule is skipped.

The RewriteRule takes whatever path is being accessed and redirects to that path at the base domain. For example, http://www.domain.com/something.html would be redirected to http://domain.com/something.html (without www.). In the RewriteRule, the %1 is substituted with what the RewriteCond matched in its parentheses, and the $1 is substituted with what the RewriteRule matched in its parentheses. So %1 has the base domain, and $1 has the path. So, http://%1/$1 is the URL of the base domain and path.

Note: If you have no root .htaccess or it has no RewriteRule statements, then somewhere above the preceding RewriteCond/RewriteRule statements, you also need these two statements to ensure that the Rewrite engine is enabled:

#--- enable Rewrite engine ---
RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /

So, if you are using one of our DySE scripts, such as DySE::StubHub, then your .htaccess file might look something like this:

#--- enable Rewrite engine ---
RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /

#--- remove www domain prefix ---
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.(.*)
RewriteRule ^(.*) http://%1/$1 [R=301,L]

#--- DySE::StubHub at root / ---
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
RewriteRule ^.+$ - [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ cgi-bin/dyse/view.pl?merch=stubhub&dir=&path=$1 [L]

The order of these three blocks of statements is important. You want the test of the domain name to be done before all other RewriteCond/RewriteRule statements.


So What Do People Want, Exactly?

Maslow's "Hierarchy of Needs" is a theory in psychology, proposed by Abraham Maslow in his 1943 paper "A Theory of Human Motivation". Maslow subsequently extended the idea to include his observations of humans' innate curiosity.

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs consists of: Deficiency needs (Physiological needs, Safety needs, Social needs, Esteem), and Self-actualization (Acceptance, Problem Centering, The need for privacy, Morality and discrimination between means and ends, Sense of Humor, Imperfections, The desires to Know and to Understand).

So what do people want, exactly?
People want to ...
  • feel safe and secure
  • feel comfortable
  • be free to do what they want
  • be cared for and connected to others
  • be desired by others
  • feel that they matter
  • grow and become more
  • be surprised and excited
  • serve others and give back
  • believe there is a higher purpose
The more of these needs that the consumer believes our promoted product/service satisfies, the more successful our marketing efforts will be.

Big brands spend over $450 billion each year to influence consumers. They wouldn't spent that much if it did not work -- they know what they're doing. Learn what they are doing to satisfy consumers' needs. Apply some of those strategies in your own affiliate marketing efforts to be more successful.

It's also important as marketers that we realize there is a difference between need and want. A person may need a car, but they may want a Mercedes or BMW or Lexus. And the person wants that expensive car to meet their needs (e.g.: to be desired by others, feel that they matter).

So remember, focus your marketing efforts on what people want.

Remember to Give Them What They Want (It's Really Very Simple) describes these needs in greater detail and illustrates them with brands that successfully target those needs. Check it out.

Must Identify Yourself as an Amazon.co.uk Associate

Amazon.co.uk will be requiring you to clearly state on your website that you are an Amazon.co.uk Associate.

The upcoming March 1, 2010 version of the Amazon.co.uk Operating Agreement contains the following section:

10. Identifying Yourself as an Associate

You will not issue any press release or make any other public communication with respect to this Operating Agreement, your use of the Content, or your participation in the Programme. You will not misrepresent or embellish the relationship between us and you (including by expressing or implying that we support, sponsor, endorse, or contribute to any charity or other cause), or express or imply any relationship or affiliation between us and you or any other person or entity except as expressly permitted by this Operating Agreement. You must, however, clearly state the following on your site: "[Insert your name] is a participant in the Amazon Europe S.à.r.l. Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co.uk/Javari.co.uk."

Notice the sentence that I have highlighted in yellow.

You should include the required sentence on your website before March 1, 2010 so that you will remain in compliance with the upcoming Amazon.co.uk Associates Programme Operating Agreement.

A summary of the all changes between the current and next version of the agreement can be seen here: Amazon.co.uk agreement comparison.


How To Become A Super Affiliate In 5 Easy Steps

I just watched a new video on Jeff Johnson's UndergroundTrainingLab.com blog.

And it's terrific!

How To Become A Super Affiliate In 5 Easy Steps

I can't believe this ...

In this 30-minute video Jeff tells you exactly which products he's promoting... and how much money he's making with them... and it's a lot!

Jeff literally hands you his best money-getting affiliate promotions on a silver platter.

Here's your free...

"How To Become A Super Affiliate In 5 Easy Steps" video



You don't have to give your email to watch it or anything like that.

But I'm on Jeff's mailing list and he sends out great content and free software all the time.

Watch the video and if you like it ...

Join his list.

You'll love his stuff.

Here's that free video. Check it out ...
How To Become A Super Affiliate In 5 Easy Steps


Advertising Tax Goes Beyond New York State

Advertising tax law first became widespread news when New York state passed such legislation.

Basically, if a merchant (who is located outside of New York state) has at least one affiliate in New York state then New York state can charge the merchant for sales tax of all sales in New York state.

To avoid such tax by New York state, some merchants no longer accept affiliates located in New York state. One such merchant is Amazon.com, which terminated the affiliate accounts of its affiliates located in New York state. The New York Post has dubbed the advertising tax the "Amazon Tax".

Several states have already passed advertising tax law:
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Rhode Island
And several other states are proposing legislation that could require certain advertisers to charge sales tax on Internet retail sales or tax via other means.

For more information about advertising tax and its current status in your state, check out these resources ... And these blog posts provide more details about the advertising tax ...
Note: The above information is not tax or legal advice, and it is provided as a courtesy for your convenience.

Scheduled Tweets

Twuffer.com is a free service that enables you to enter future tweets, also known as scheduled tweets and timed tweets.

You type in your tweet text and select a date and time that you want your tweet to be posted to your Twitter.com account.

You can enter as many scheduled tweets as you want. Twuffer.com will post them at the appointed date and time.

Some uses for scheduled tweets include:
  • pre-written announcements
  • event/conference reminders
  • reminder to tune into weekly podcast
  • daily tips
The advantage of a scheduled tweet service is that you can enter all your scheduled tweets in days, weeks, or even in months in advance.

You login to twuffer.com using your twitter.com username/password. There's no separate twuffer.com login to setup and remember. If you have several twitter accounts, no problem -- just login to twuffer.com using the username/password of the twitter account that you want to use.

Once logged into twuffer.com, there's a "Type your tweet" box where you type your tweet (has the typical "140 character" countdown), and also a "When to tweet" popup calendar and time dropdown menu to set the date/time of your new scheduled tweet.

Below the tweet entry area, there are four tabs:
  • Dashboard tab: Shows how many tweets you've entered, how many are queued, how many have been sent, the next tweet to go out, and the previous tweet that went out.

  • Queued tweets: List of scheduled tweets. Each row shows the text to be sent, date/time when to be sent, and an X to delete the tweet.

  • Sent tweets: List of sent tweets. Each row shows the text sent, date/time when was sent, and an X to delete the tweet from the log (to delete actual tweets from twitter.com you have to go to twitter.com itself).

  • Settings: Settings for timezone and date/time display formats.
I do use twuffer.com myself. One of my sites is about romance. On its corresponding twitter account, @moreromance, I tweet daily love quotes. Well, I don't actually spend time on it each day sending out a tweet, it just appears that way. I spent one day entering 6 month's worth of daily love quotes; now twuffer.com takes care of posting a tweet each day. I sit back and forget about it.

Besides twuffer.com, several other scheduled tweet services are available, such as FutureTweets.com. For others, search for "timed tweets" or "scheduled tweets" or "future tweets". Personally, I found twuffer.com to be the one with the simplest user interface and the easiest service to use.

Check it out... Twuffer.com


cj.com EPC Explained

What is EPC?

EPC is an acronym for "Earnings Per Click".

But it's not quite as simple as that. Commission Junction (cj.com) defines the C to mean 100 clicks ("C" is latin for one hundred).

So EPC is "Earnings per 100 Clicks".

3-Month EPC and 7-Day EPC

On Commission Junction reports you will see "3-month EPC" and "7-day EPC". Commission Junction defines these two EPC's as follows:

  • 3-month EPC: The 3-month EPC (earnings per 100 clicks) indicates how well an advertiser converts Web site visitors into commissions, over a three-month period.

  • 7-day EPC: The 7-day EPC (earnings per 100 clicks) is the average commissions paid to publishers for every 100 clicks, over the past seven days.
EPC Importance

EPC is important because it gives you an idea of how well an affiliate program is doing.

Keep in mind that the reported EPC is an average EPC of all the affiliates promoting the merchant. The EPC for each affiliate can vary greatly depending upon what marketing efforts (promotion, presell, etc.) each affiliate is doing. Depending upon your own marketing efforts, you may make more or less than the reported EPC.

Example EPC Calculation

As an example of calculating EPC, suppose you earned $53 after sending a merchant 2700 clicks last month.

So, divide $53 by 2700 clicks:
$53 / 2700 clicks = $0.0196 per click
So you earned just under 2 cents for each click.

Now multiply by 100 to get "per 100 clicks":
$1.96 per 100 clicks

That means that for every 100 clicks you sent to the merchant, you earned $1.96. So, if you send that merchant another 100 clicks, you will probably make another $1.96 from that merchant (assuming all other things being equal). Of course, past EPC is not a guarantee of future EPC.

Personally, I like to think in terms of "1000 clicks" rather than "100 clicks". So I mentally multiply the reported EPC by 10 (just shift the decimal point one place to the right) to get "earnings per 1000 clicks". So in the above example ($1.96 EPC), $19.60 was earned per 1000 clicks.

Comparing Merchants

If you are trying to decide between two similar merchants which one to signup with, compare the merchants' "3-Month EPC" and "7-Day EPC". If they offer the same products, you may want to go with the merchant with the higher EPC.

Personally, I give more weight to the "3-Month EPC" since it is a longer timeframe than the "7-Day EPC" and is more stable.

Keep an Eye On Your EPC

If you see your EPC for a merchant suddenly drop, the merchant probably changed something on the landing page at their site. If that happens, you might want to consider investigating further or even switching to a different merchant with a higher EPC.


Redirect domain.com to www.domain.com

On some websites, a user can access domain.com or www.domain.com -- notice the www. prefix.

The problem is that some search engines may see http://domain.com and http://www.domain.com as separate and consider the content to be duplicate content.

Also, some webmasters prefer users to access the host qualified domain (www.domain.com) rather than just the simple domain (domain.com)

By adding two lines to your website's .htaccess file, you can automatically redirect the user from domain.com to www.domain.com. This redirection works for all files, not just the homepage.

In your root .htaccess file, above all other RewriteRule and RewriteCond statements, add lines like these:

#--- ensure www domain prefix ---
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain\.com$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]

Replace domain with your domain. In the RewriteCond, the \ (before the . of .com) is required otherwise the dot would match any character.

So what do these two lines do?

The RewriteCond (a rewrite condition) tests the HTTP_HOST (what domain is being accessed) and compares it to domain.com. If that condition is met, then the next statement is evaluated. If that condition is not met, then the RewriteRule is skipped.

The RewriteRule takes whatever path is being accessed and redirects to that path at the full domain. For example, /something.html would be redirected to http://www.domain.com/something.html

Note: If you have no root .htaccess or it has no RewriteRule statements, then somewhere above the preceding RewriteCond/RewriteRule statements, you also need these two statements to ensure that the Rewrite engine is enabled:

#--- enable Rewrite engine ---
RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /

So, if you are using one of our DySE scripts, such as DySE::StubHub, then your .htaccess file might look something like this:

#--- enable Rewrite engine ---
RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /

#--- ensure www domain prefix ---
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain\.com$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]

#--- DySE::StubHub at root / ---
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
RewriteRule ^.+$ - [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ cgi-bin/dyse/view.pl?merch=stubhub&dir=&path=$1 [L]

The order of these three blocks of statements is important. You want the test of the domain name to be done before all other RewriteCond/RewriteRule statements.

Bulletin 2010-01-26

In this issue:

1. Add Links over YouTube Videos
2. DySE::CFB (CrazyforBargains.com) v10.01.25 -- Update
3. c3scripts Blog

1. Add Links over YouTube Videos

Adding your affiliate links or comments over YouTube videos is now possible. Two new free services, LinkedTube.com and BubblePLY.com, make this process very easy. Basically you enter the YouTube video ID/URL, and your link URL and link title. You then paste the provided HTML code fragement into your webpage just like you would when embedding an uncommented YouTube video into your webpage.

Read full details at ...
Add Links over YouTube Videos

2. DySE::CFB (CrazyforBargains.com) v10.01.25 -- Update

This update is strongly recommended. It uses a more up-to-date version of the datafeed file and provides better product categorization.

Upgrade instructions:

1) Download .zip file: http://www.c3scripts.com/cfb/release
2) Unzip .zip file
3) Upload make.pl to cgi-bin/dyse/cfb/make.pl
4) Upload make2.pl to cgi-bin/dyse/cfb/make2.pl
5) Run make.pl at /cgi-bin/dyse/cfb/make.pl

About DySE::CFB ...

DySE::CFB displays sleepwear products (Pajamas and Sleepwear, boxer shorts, slippers) from CrazyforBargains.com (1400+ products, 12% commission, 365 day cookie, ShareaSale.com). The DySE::CFB script is available free to our sub-affiliates.

Get DySE::CFB at:

See our sample store at:

3. c3scripts Blog

Follow us on our new blog at:

We plan on posting script announcements, affiliate marketing tips, useful software links and resources.


Add Links over YouTube Videos

Add Links over YouTube Videos using two new services:
LinkedTube.com and BubblePly.com

These video commenting services use Flash widgets (Flash movies) to display the original YouTube video with an independent overlay layer that contains your comments and/or links.

These services do not interfere with the video, edit, manipulate, modify, or copy it. The original video is streamed from YouTube while the overlay layer is provided by the video commenting service.

As an affiliate marketer, why would you use such services? So you can add your affiliate links as overlays. For example, you might promote the Super Affiliate Handbook by Rosalind Gardner and you could add your ClickBank affiliate link as an overlay -- Rosalind herself even suggests you do this with her video! See Rosalind's Affiliate Marketing Simplified video and my blog posting Affiliate Marketing Simplified showing that video with a LinkedTube overlay.

LinkedTube.com lets you add one linked button that appears in the upper-right corner for the entire duration of the video. The button can link to only one URL and can be configured to always be visible or only appear upon hover. Here's a LinkedTube.com tutorial ...

<a href="http://www.linkedtube.com/Zgxp4IG06wM05aa506426453ef188489b28d8071c8e.htm">LinkedTube</a>

BubblePly.com is more advanced. It lets you add multiple transparent overlays and each can have its own location/size and start/stop times. Thus if the video mentions a website at 10 seconds into the video and another at 35 seconds into the video, you could add two different linked overlays. See the BubblePLY.com tutorial.

BubblePLY.com offers the most features and flexibility while LinkedTube.com overs the basics. Both services are useful and free. Check them out.


Affiliate Marketing Simplified

"Affiliate Marketing Simplified" video by Rosalind Gardner, author of the Super Affiliate Handbook.

<a href="http://www.linkedtube.com/LMqfuMq5UrM5eb97132b25a534500e904e7fcf3dc7d.htm">LinkedTube</a>

In her video, Rosalind explains and reveals ...If you're starting out with affiliate marketing, there's a lot to learn. A very good place to start is Rosalind Gardner's eBook...

Super-Affiliate Handbook

Rosalind shares her expert guidance. Topics include: Blogging, Market Research, Affiliate Programs, Web Design, and Problem Avoidance.

I've read her eBook and it's the only one about affiliate marketing that I recommend. Check it out.


Perpetual Payout Offers Get You Paid Forever

"Perpetual Payouts", or "Recurring Commissions", is one of the little known secrets to success in affiliate marketing.

Affiliate marketing expert Jeff Johnson discusses how you can benefit from perpetual payouts in his very informative 10-minute video:

Perpetual Payout Offers Get You Paid Forever

Jeff tells you what Perpetual Payouts offers are, why they're important, and how to find them.

Instead of promoting a product and getting paid once, promote products or services that pay you on a recurring basis.

ClickBank.com contains many products and services that pay recurring commissions. To easily find those offers, go to CBEngine.com and click on "Recurring $" in the left sidebar.


Email Newsletters and Autoresponders

Email newsletters and autoresponders boost your website's traffic, turn passive visitors into active subscribers, and convert more sales.

"You have to build [an email] list... that's how we all start." -- Jeff Johnson, affiliate marketing expert.

AWeber.com makes it easy to create email newsletters and email follow-up autoresponders.

Newsletters: Create visually stunning, engaging email newsletters. Choose from over 103 HTML templates, paste in your own HTML or use the built-in message editor.

Autoresponders: Build lasting relationships with prospects using an automated sequence of personalized autoresponder emails. For example, write a 10-week email course and schedule an email to go out every week -- set it up once and forget about it! Some merchants even supply you with pre-written email courses that you can send out -- you just select the merchant and the course is imported into your account for sending out.

Statistics: Track who opens and clicks on your links with accurate, easy-to-read reports that show you what works and what doesn't. Know who opened what email, who clicked on what link, and much more.

Subscriptions: Double opt-in subscription process ensures subscribers are really interested. Unreachable subscribers automatically deleted. Management of subscriptions and email delivery is all automatic.

Multi-Lists: Have as many email newsletters and autoresponder campaigns as you want. Great if you have many websites and want a different newsletter for each website.

Affordable: The price levels of the service are based on the total number of subscribers that you have (i.e.: 0-500, 501-2500, 2501-5000, ...). It's easy to keep the cost down by periodically reviewing the email statistics and removing inactive subscribers.

AWeber.com has everything you would want or need in an email newsletter and autoresponder service.

Check it out... AWeber.com

Associate Engine: Amazon Script

Amazon.com products can be quickly and easily added to your website using our Associate Engine software script, an "Amazon script".

Associate Engine supports:
  • Category "drill-down" browsing.
  • Keyword search.
  • ASIN/UPC search.
  • Actor/Director/Author/Artist search.
  • Listmania/similarity search.
Customizable templates to match your existing website page design.

Product result details are customizable and include:
  • Product's title
  • Product's price
  • Product's image (thumbnail/small/medium/large)
  • Product's description
  • Product's features
  • Product's authors/directors/actors
  • Customer reviews
  • Similar products
Can embed products directly in your webpages via SSI (Server-Side-Include) statements or JavaScript <script> tags.

Supports search engine friendly URL's (/shop/parameter/.../) as well as cgi-bin URL's (/cgi-bin/ae.pl?parameter&...).

Latest product data shown by using Amazon.com Product Advertising API (formerly AWS and ECS) to retrieve XML product data. XML data cached on your server to speed repeat requests.

Associate Engine works with Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk

Requires cgi-bin perl support on your Linux web server.

Multi-site license included that permits you to run Associate Engine on all your websites. Each license supports up to 10 of your Amazon associate/tracking ID's.

Amazon associates have been using Associate Engine since 2001.

Check it out: Associate Engine


Affiliate Marketing Tools

Quickly and easily promote products from:

* Amazon.com / Amazon.co.uk
* AllPosters.com
* BettyMills.com
* Calendars.com
* Rockler.com
* StubHub.com
* and 150+ other merchants

Visit c3scripts.com to find out more about our affiliate marketing tools.

Our cgi-bin perl scripts convert each merchant's datafeed file (or XML feed or SQL feed) into virtual HTML webpages.

Create stand-alone websites or integrate products into your existing website.